banner image


Welcome to the Georgia Statehood Website!
This website has a variety of activities which will help you learn more about the history, government, and economics of Georgia!
Each link above takes you to a page with a number of activities in each of the three areas. You can always click on the home link to return to this page.

Fun Facts

Georgia was founded by James Oglethorpe on February 12, 1733 and is considered to be the 13th colony. Georgia become a state on January 2, 1788 and was the 4th state admitted to the Union. The state capital has been in Atlanta since 1868.
The state motto is "Wisdom, Justice, and Moderation and popular nicknames for the state include "Empire State of the South" and the "Peach State." With a population of 8,186,453 Georgia is the 10th most populous state (as of the 2000 census). It has a land area of 57,906 miles making it the 24th largest state in the US and the largest state east of the Mississippi River. It has 159 counties, 15 electoral votes, 2 senators, and 13 representatives (as of the 2006 election) in congress.